



ABOUT COOPERATION AGREEMENTS

DEAR PARTNERS,

We would like to inform you that in accordance with the Administrative Territorial Reform implemented in Latvia, as of July 1, 2021, Jēkabpils city, Jēkabpils county, Krustpils county, Salas county, Aknīste county and Viesīte county are united into one administrative unit - **JEKABPILS COUNTY**.

The county consists of Jēkabpils state city, cities Aknīste and Viesīte, as well as Aknīste, Asare, Atašiene, Ābeļi, Dignāja, Dunava, Elkšņi, Gārsene, Kalna, Krustpils, Kūku, Leimaņi, Mežāre, Rite, Rubene, Sala, Sauka, Sēlpils, Varieši, Viesite, Vīpes, Zasa parishes.

More than **40,000** inhabitants live in the newly established Jēkabpils region. **54%** of the county's population lives in Jēkabpils city.

The area of the county is 2996 km² and it is the 5th largest county in Latvia.

On July 1, 2021, **RAIVIS RAGAINIS** was elected the Chairman of Jekabpils County Council.

The Chairman of the County Council has three vice chairmen -Vice Chairman for Education and Culture **ALFONS ŽUKS**, Vice Chairman for Development **KĀRLIS STARS**, Vice Chairman for Health and Social Services **AIVARS VANAGS**.



Pictured from left: Vice Chairman Alfons Žuks, Chairman of the City Council Raivis Ragainis, Vice Chairman Kārlis Stars, Vice Chairman Aivars Vanags

The County Council consists of 19 deputies from 9 political parties: Raivis Ragainis, Alfons Žuks, Kārlis Stars, Aivars Vanags, Daina Vītola, Aigars Nitišs, Ainars Vasilis, Aija Bojāre, Daina Kalve, Kaspars Štolnieks, Mārtiņš Svilis, Līga Kļaviņa, Andrejs Gavrilovs, Aivars Kraps, Māris Trušelis, Elīna Serkova, Jānis Raščevskis, Leonīds Salcevičs, Māris Dimants.



The newly established Jēkabpils county **municipality takes over all the obligations** provided for in the cooperation agreements concluded by the twin cities with the existing municipalities - Jēkabpils city municipality, Jēkabpils county municipality, Krustpils county municipality, Sala county municipality, Aknīste county municipality and Viesīte county municipality.

PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENTS ARE VALID WITH:

- Averoy (Norway)
- Bialogard (Poland)
- Cumpana (Romania)
- Czeladź (Poland)
- Czerwionka-Leszczyny (Poland)
- Juodupe (Lithuania)
- Kauhava (Finland)
- Kupiškis (Lithuania)
- Lida (Belarus)
- Maardu (Estonia)
- Melle (Germany)

- Miory (Belarus)
- Myrhorod (Ukraine)
- Parchim (Germany)
- Postavy (Belarus)
- Qarachukhur (Azerbaijan)
- Rokiškis (Lithuania)
- Sharkawshchyna (Belarus)
- Sokołów Podlaski (Poland)
- Vyzhnytsia (Ukraine)
- Zarasai (Lithuania)
- Zhydachiv (Ukraine)

To contact Jēkabpils county municipality in matters of cooperation, please contact us by e-mail pasts@jekabpils.lv or Jēkabpils County municipality, 120 Brīvības Street, Jēkabpils, Jēkabpils County, LV-5201.

66

We higly appreciate the long-term relationships of previous local governments with partners abroad. We believe that the reform implemented in Latvia, which makes Jēkabpils a large and strong region, will guarantee fruitful and productive mutual relations in the future, especially in fields of education, culture, sports, business, as well as the implementation of cross-border projects. To cooperation! And we hope that we soon will be able to shake hands and meet you all in person!

